Countdown on to win your vote

CANDIDATES have hit the hustings as they chase your vote in the upcoming Federal Election.

With the cost of living, housing, health and climate change the major concerns for many, Labor is calling for “change for the better”, while the Liberals say they have and will continue to build a strong economy and a stronger future.
There will be five candidates each vying for the seats of Blaxland, Watson and Barton, and seven in Banks, with sitting MPs Linda Burney (Barton), Jason Clare (Blaxland), Tony Burke (Watson) and David Coleman (Banks) re-contesting their seats.
The candidates are:
Blaxland: Adam Stepanoff, Pauline Hanson’s One Nation; Oz Guney, Liberal; Linda Eisler, The Greens; Jason Clare, Labor; and Elvis Sinosic, United Australia.
Watson: Sazeda Akter, Liberal; John Koukoulis, United Australia Party; Tony Burke, Labor; Alan Jorgensen, Pauline Hanson’s One Nation; and Bradley Schott, The Greens.
Banks: David Coleman, Liberal; Elouise Ivy Cocker, Liberal Democrat; Marike Momircevski, United Australia Party; Natalie Hanna, The Greens; Steve Khouw, non-affiliated; Malcolm Phillip Heffernan, Pauline Hanson’s One Nation; and Zhi Soon, Labor.
Barton: Linda Burney, Labor; Dimitri Honos, United Australia Party; Taylor Vandijk, The Greens; John Goody, Liberal; and Phillip Pollard, Pauline Hanson’s One Nation.
With more than 17.2 million Australians enrolled to vote on May 21, Electoral Commissioner Tom Rogers says it’s time to plan your vote.
“With many nations around the world campaigning to get even three-quarters of their population enrolled to vote, this result is a continuing source of Australian democratic pride,” Mr Rogers said.
“The remarkable state of the roll in Australia is something that is simply not seen in most places around the world.”